top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHelen

Phase 2, Post 4


In today’s class we had two different guest speakers that talked about multisensory reading and the accessibility of it. One thing that our first speaker talked about was the different types of text available to people who may be visually impaired. She talked about Boston Line Type in comparison to the more commonly used and more modern braille. I have personally never heard of Boston Line Type and so when it was brought up I was truly intrigued by it. I didn’t know this before but Line Type was a precursor to braille. I’ve never heard of Boston Linetype until it was brought up during this lecture. I have briefly stopped by the “Touch This Page!” exhibit at Dibner before we went remote for the semester and if I’m being completely honest, I never stopped before to analyze the different tablets on display. As a person fortunate enough to have sight and tobe able to read, I personally thought Linetype seemed like the easier, better option for the visually impaired. However, seeing as braille is more modern and common, I realized how wrong I could be since I’ve never had to learn how to read either before.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 12: Story Making Workshop

I wasn’t able to join in on this class but I looked back at the class recording and followed along: This is the story I created: First breakout session: Issues of bias: Different races are being hit h

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page