top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHelen

Phase 1, Post 3: Medical Bias in the News


When looking at the exhibits on Taking Care of Brooklyn’s website, the first one that popped out to me was “A Queer Look at Brooklyn”. The cover photo they had displayed is what caught my attention the most; It reads: Activistas Latinos Contra el SIDA (translates to: Latino Activists Against AIDS). Even when I was younger, I remember that I would hear that AIDS was a disease that gay people had. There was a very strong medical bias with AIDS and people of the queer community. At one point, there was a belief that only queer people could get the disease! Looking back at that time, we realize how ignorant that kind of thinking was. Peoples narrow minded, conservative thinking is that led ideas like this one to be so widely spread and even accepted! The picture on the website shows how Latinos, not necessarily all queer, rallied against idea.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 12: Story Making Workshop

I wasn’t able to join in on this class but I looked back at the class recording and followed along: This is the story I created: First breakout session: Issues of bias: Different races are being hit h

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page